The developments in technology allow more and more machines to be used rather than human employees. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Major breakthroughs made in technology now allow the growing application of machinery superseding human workers. Although not flawless, this modern approach is undoubtedly more advantageous. On the plus side, replacing labor with computerized systems offers a number of obvious benefits. Firstly, this paradigm shift leads to fewer errors owing to the fact that compared with humans machines are infallible. Unaffected by fatigue, stress or illness, devices are fail-safe and can function with more precision. Take an assembly line operating with the use of automated equipment in a factory; unlike workers who may make mistakes and attach the wrong parts because of certain external factors such as exhaustion, assembly machines have been programmed to assemble products with accuracy irrespective of the circumstances. Another feature indicating the superiority of automated systems over conventional workforce is their consistency. In simple terms, they guarantee the same outcome with no discrepancy which is of immense value in mass production. On the flip side, the dominance of technology-driven tools over human employees has its downside. Contrary to individuals, machines are devoid of any feeling including aspirations. In other words, while people are inspired by their driving ambitions, automatons are deprived of any affective factors. This quality assumes importance when considering sense of accomplishment which in a professional setting could be fulfilled by promotion. Aspiring to be promoted, workers tend to make a tremendous effort so as to excel at the tasks they have been entrusted with. This, however, cannot be claimed for machines. On balance, what is evident is that despite the shortcomings, machines are better replacements. This is mainly because they are precise and consistent if not ambitious.