In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In western culture, parents are often moved to old age homes. The cost of taking care of them is also paid by the government in some cases. In my opinion, this fee for taking care of ones' own parents should be paid by their family instead of the public authorities. The below paragraphs elucidate the reasons for my view. To embark upon, parents are not a liability on their offsprings. It is the mere duty of the children to look after their elders in old age. Nowadays, people do not have so much time to take proper care of their mother or father. As a result, they are mostly sent to live with other persons of their age where they all are looked after by nurses. At the same time, the cost of these old age homes is bored by the administration for some people. Nonetheless, an old member of the house is not the responsibility of the government to be looked after but it the sole duty of its successors. It is just due to the time constraint that they need to be sent to other location for getting proper attention and the required care. But, the offsprings need to pay the people whom they are delegating their task. For instance, a survey in Britain done by social workers suggested that the people when paid by their children feel joyful to be considered as the part of the family by their young ones. Therefore, the fee should be paid by the members of the house. Moreover, The government need to focus on the overall welfare of the citizens. Utilisation of the part of public funds in taking care of the senior citizens of the country is not enough for all the people in there. Thus, this leads to decrease in the quality of the treatment provided to them. To illustrate, a study on the welfare of the senior people in European countries suggested that the condition of the homes of these people are far better in the nations where the fee is necessary to be paid by the family instead of the authorities because the is the budget allocated is handsome in amount due to the availability of more funds. To sum up, the cost to be paid to the caretakers of the senior citizens should be paid by the family instead of the country administration to ensure them the proper facilities as well as to fulfil the childs' duty.