A lot of places in the world rely on tourismas a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world?

Over the last few years it has been observed that tourist industry is growing enormously. It helps in increasing economic growth of any country. Although it plays a vital role in economic growth, there are some disadvantages of tourism. In this essay we will discuss some advantages and disadvantages of tourism around the world. First and foremost, it is true that it provides economical growth by generating employment opportunities for local people. Tourism helps to grow in income. Increasing number of foreign tourists encourage more probability and opportunity of business growth. Tourism provides many opportunities for employment such as hotel waiter, tourist guide, hotel hospitality staff, food seller, seller of various local hand made materials etc. Rush of tourists results into increasing of more business which leads to hire new people for work. However it has been observed that apart from all these benefits it has also many demerits. Tourism increases the probability of criminal activities like robbery, drug dealing in country. Exposure of ancient and valuable statues, ornaments and other important and priceless things encourage such kind of unethical activities. Also, damage may occurred on ancient monuments, status, Buildings temples. Now local people are attracting more towards western culture. On the way to follow their culture people are loosing their own culture. To conclude, although tourism has been drawbacks and disadvantages, but it plays a vital role in economic growth & increasing employment. By the co-ordination of local government and proper management of tourist activities, all unwanted things can be minimised.