Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Online shopping has revolutionised the way people buy things, from air tickets to books and even groceries can be purchased on internet. This trend of online shopping is growing each passing day. But is it actually an effective way to shop? This essay will discuss the pros and cons of shopping online and compare if the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. Since the last decade, online presence of both public and objects has grown tremendously hence all the sectors are trying to seek benefit in sales by selling their products on internet with the help of websites, shopping portals and mobile application. The ease of online shopping have made people addicted, they no longer need to wait in queues to pay bills and neither do they drive down to a supermarket in crazy traffic to purchase their favourite brand. Everything is just a click away and the options available are huge. This has also increased the bargaining power of customers as companies try to offer best deals to customer to cut the competition, On the other hand, with the widespread use of internet shopping small business that do not have the resources to sell their products online have suffered. Moreover, the virtual representation of products is often not accurate and customers then have to hassle to get the refund. Additionally, with so many online transaction fraudulent activities are on rise. However, companies are trying their best to mitigate these issues and offer customer seamless shopping experience with easy returns and secure payment. They are also trying their best to include community business to sell online to expand their customer base. To sum up, there are some drawbacks of shopping online especially for the ones who are new to this however the advantages are a lot more. People are used to fast paced life and online shopping truly favours them. Hence, in my opinion clearly the advantages of online shopping outweigh the disadvantages.