A lot of controversy has been raised over public schooling versus private schooling.

A lot of controversy has been raised over public schooling versus private schooling. I will try to explain this on two examples I encountered. So, my two sons studied in the Azerbaijani primary school and their further education in the Turkish school. Much debate has been made about the advantages and disadvantages of public and private schools. There are some compare and contrast the benefits and drawbacks of public and private schools: language, curriculum, athletics, cost, admissions, teachers, and discipline. In other words two different schools, two different culture, two different environment. First of all, the language we speak here is not very different from what we speak here in Azerbaijani schools. The curriculum in both public and private schools are similar because the state sets standards of what should be taught in the classroom. Then, athletics can also be comparable in both public and private schools because there is normally a mix of athletes at both types of schools. However, private school sports classes are held at a higher level and prepare for international competitions. Pupils in private schools are more confident. Children studying here are more comfortable expressing their opinions. But in public schools students' self-confidence is low. Then, the cost of attending school differs between public and private schools due to the fact that the government funds public schools and private schools receive no assistance from the government. As for teachers, teachers in public and private schools also treat students differently. In a private school, teachers treat students as friends. In a public school, there is a border between teachers and students. In their free time after school, there are interesting activities in private schools, such as kermes. Public schools do not have such an advantage. As for discipline, a private school has a disciplinary director, who oversees all school rules and regulations. In a public school, teachers do this work, even if they are the head of the discipline. In short, the freedom, self-confidence and proper organization of leisure time in private schools is superior to that in public schools. Therefore my children are very happy with the school they are currently studying at and therefore feel happy. 355 words