A lot of cities around the world have traffic jams. What are some reasons for this situation and some possible solutions?

Nowadays, there are traffic jams in most of the large cities. At the same time there is a great number of steps that could be implemented to overcome this issue. In this essay, both the causes and solutions of the mentioned problem with city-traffic will be evaluated. There are a couple of reasons why this is happening. Firstly, today our cities are becoming to look like anthills. The level of urbanization has been having upwards trend since the World War II. It means more and more people are relocating to the centers. It goes without saying that every person aims to have their own car to have full freedom of movement. It claimed to cause terrible traffic especially over the span of rush-hour. Secondly, our todays megapolices were constructed few centuries ago and there were different requirements for the traffic system. As a result, city communications cannot cope with the large number of vehicles. There are two effective solutions to the problem of congestions. One way to tackle this is to make people prefer public transportation. For instance, Seatle had disgusting traffic, so the city council decided to provide the citizens with well-organized branches of subway and buses, it decreased the indexes of jams significantly. Furthermore, limiting the access of private owed cars might help mitigate the problem. For example, Beijin is known as the most crowded city globally. So, there is a law, according to which driving a car is allowed only on some days of the week. The experts say it has dropped the figures of traffic jams. In conclusion, while causes of road congestions are overpopulation and outmoded communication facilities in cities. As for possible measures, development means of public transport and limitation of using domestic cars can improve the situation on the roads.