A lot of advertisements for things like toys and fast food are aimed at children. Many people believe that these advertisements have a bad effect on children and their families.

Commercials have changed a lot in this contemporary world. During the inception of the idea of advertising, delivering correct information about the products and services available, without unnecessary add-ons, was its main motto. Although, today it has become one of the sources of brand popularity in this competitive era, supplying false and incomplete information. Marketing targeting children has grown, as they are easy to be pleased. As a matter of fact, a child does not know what is good or bad for him/her, they tend to get attracted to almost anything with bright and shiny colours, even if it is of no use to them. For instance, my son once started crying over an electric train toy, wrapped in a dark red box with the engine visible and it had shimmery blue corners. I tried to convince him that it is made for much older kids, but we ended up purchasing it. He got a mild shock while playing with it and never touched it again. To give another example, couple of days earlier, there was news of a kid who swallowed a piece of clay and thankfully nothing happened to him but these incidents create safety concerns. Similar is the case with the fast-food chain's advertisements on both digital and print media. Some of the eatables are promoted by famous personalities, which the younger generation adore. Despite the fact, that these foodstuffs contain a huge percentage of preservatives and artificial colourings, which are harmful to children's health. Furthermore, these foods are advertised along-side toys such as happy meals by McDonald's, kinder joy eggs, etc. The emphasis is always on the toy provided with cuisine when advertising to which children has a great interest. These meals are rather expensive than a regular item on the menu. Moreover, fast-food commercials neither mention nor contain any healthy eatables in the meal itself. In conclusion, I would say I agree with masses who believe, adolescent age groups are more often targeted in various commercials. There should be a strict rule on safety and quality check on kids items and frozen or processed meal for children should be completely avoided as it contains the highest amount of chemicals, preservatives and artificial colouring which can prove to be dangerous for health. Children must be encouraged to eat fresh vegetables and fruits.