A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

An increasing proportion of the population feels that animals should also be treated with dignity and such species also possess the same rights as human beings. Another section of the population opines that animals exist to meet the various needs of human beings inclusive of food and research. I am of the opinion that animals should also be treated with compassion. The opinion of the growing number of people is that animals should be treated in the same way a human person is treated. Firstly, the principal argument put forth by those in favor of compassionate treatment is that animals are also living beings that experience a plethora of emotions similar to humans. Animals are also prone to feelings. Furthermore, technological developments have led to new methods of exploiting animals. For instance, animals such as cows are either forcefully or artificially impregnated, and their offspring are separated from the mother. Animals have no legal rights. As a result, animals are exploited by big corporations for research remorselessly. Also, poultry animals such as chicken and sheep are injected with artificial substances for gaining the desired quality and then ruthlessly butchered and sold as meat. The proportion of the population against the view argues that animals do not possess the level of intelligence as humans, animals are domesticated and exploited to satisfy human needs. The continued improvement of mankind is a reason utilized for justifying the indiscriminate slaughtering and treatment of animals and an absence of laws are exploited without any guilt. To conclude, animals should be treated with compassion and humans must treat animals with dignity. The absence of legal rights and lack of intelligence is no excuse for meting out inhumane treatment to animals.