A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons from your own experience and examples where relevant.

There is no arguing the fact that animal exploitation takes place on a massive scale across the world. Certain segment of the society tends to believe that restrictions must be enforced to ensure animals are not exploited as well as to preserve their rights. However, some people tend to deem that animals must be used for various purposes such as for satisfying hunger and conducting experiments. Both the arguments need a proper scrutiny before forming an opinion. Going with the first school of thought, it is but the statement of obvious that animals too have rights as much as any human. They too strive for survival and needed to be treated with equal respect. Exploitation of animals for various needs is undoubtedly posing a serious threat to its existence. Many species are on the verge of extinction which could also pose a problem in the food chain. It goes without saying that people have become too insensitive and their acts are not at all justifiable. However, the counter argument deems that it is certainly essential to employ animals for the survival of human existence. There are those who say that if no animal dies, then it would lead to overpopulation of species, thereby, eventually resulting in disruption in the food chain. Many researchers believe that conducting experiments on animals is necessary to extend knowledge and understanding on the existence biological theories. Experiments have to be carried out in order to recognize the scientific details. To put it in a nut shell, I pen down saying that, however important it is, animals must be treated in a manner such that it does not lead to extinction. Exploitation of animals must be minimized if not stopped completely. The authorities concerned must impose measures to regulate its exploitation and take strict actions against those who violate them. In other words, over-exploitation must be put to an end.