Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

There is a contentious argument over whether increasing prison sentences might lessen the rate of committing a crime. Others dispute claiming that other strategies could be applied and better more effective results. In this essay, both sides are discussed as well as my personal opinion regarding this argument. The main reason why a large number of people would state that staying more in prison would displace the criminal’s behavior. To elucidate, getting a prison sentence for a long time will punish the criminal mentally feeling regression over what he did Since obviously without any entertainment inside it will make a better version of the person. On the other hand, others are claiming other empathetic solutions can be applied instead of spending a lot of time inside. Educating people can assist criminals on a long-term basis. Furthermore, offering and providing psychological appointments with a specialist can solve the problem from its roots. To put in concisely, both perspectives have their ideas and reasons regarding this matter. For who supported increasing prison sentences, believe that after they spend time in prison, feeling regression when correct their behavior. When who disagreed with the idea are relying on changing their thought and ideas internally by getting support, education and mental sessions. Personally, I strongly disagree with punishing criminals with longer prison sentences. There are always better ways to do things and it is definitely better to solve a problem from its roots.