A GENERAL SURVEY: WHY “NO” TO SPORTS?

On 29th June 2021, I surveyed the students of the 5000 ‘E’ batch, regarding the causes for their lack of interest in sports. Among 135 students, I found that 40 of them had a keen interest in sports, who didn’t contribute much to the survey. However, the rest 95 students provided reasons of their own, for not participating in sports activities. I have tried to cover them up in three major points. It was interesting to know that about two-thirds of the students in the survey, blamed their attitude for their lack of interest in sports. Most of the students think that involving themselves in sports is a way to kill time; instead, they prefer to study in their leisure time. In contrast, some students lack enough time to enjoy sports due to the extra classes and tuitions they have in the morning and evening. Secondly, students also complained about parent’s priority. The majority of the parents emphasize on academic performance of their children. Parents see no benefit for their children for taking part in sports; moreover, they want their children to focus a lot on academics. For instance, this has added the number of tuition lessons, as already mentioned before. With no wonder, lack of enough facilities was also one of the main issues raised by the students. Some of the students, who loved sports mentioned the lack of enough equipment required in sports along with the poor conditions of the playgrounds. The level of soil in each of the football grounds vary which has made the grounds uneven. Moreover, the cracks in basketball courts are not maintained in time. The rainy season fills up the grounds and tracks with water; at the same time, makes the courts slippery. Also, the number of sports equipment does not meet the demand of all the students; in addition, most of them are damaged. To increase the number of sports participation in the 5000 ‘E’ batch, I put forward some of the suggestions. First of all, students should be stressed about the importance of sports by the concerned authorities as well as the pastoral members of the house they reside in. Secondly, I strongly recommend having a meeting with parents about the importance of their children’s involvement in sports. This can be done by convincing them about sport’s effect on student’s physical and mental health. Organizing several sports competitions and awarding the winners with prizes can engage the students in sports. Finally, the school can improve the facilities for the students and employ qualified trainers to increase their interest in sports. With timely maintenance of courts, grounds, and fields of Budhanilkantha School, students won’t face any difficulty while playing games and they will enjoy them. Also, the appointment of qualified trainers can help the students to learn sports with proper rules and regulations, ultimately increasing their interest. This can act as a golden opportunity for the students who are pursuing to make their careers in sports in the future. To sum up, the survey helped to recognize the problems of students towards the sports sector of Budhanilkantha School as well as the reasons for their lack of interest in sports. I hope that the school implements the suggestions that I have put forward to increase the interest of students in sports. I believe that these ways can catch the attention of students in sports, and increase their participation as well.