A curfew is used to define the timing where people can go out of their homes.

A curfew is used to define the timing where people can go out of their homes. Nowadays, in certain areas, authorities do not allow teenagers to go out alone at specific times at night. Although this approach could lead to a more rebellious and less confident teenager, I believe its advantages outweigh its disadvantages. A major benefit of this method is that it helps adults to supervise their children at night. Although I concede that this approach does not help to boost the self-confidence of our children, I think that controlling certain activities would be in the best interests of our children. Most parties and nightclubs tend to operate at late hours. If teenagers attend such events, they could be more exposed to drugs and alcoholics. Even worse, peer pressures could lead to smoking and having undesirable sexual contact. Another advantage to implementing curfew on teenagers is their school performance. While I acknowledge that it is not very effective to force our children to study their curriculum, providing them with a supportive and more controlled environment will certainly help them. If teenagers are allowed to go out at night, this might affect their study schedules or they even might not be able to attend early classes. Therefore, in my opinion, applying a curfew at night is more beneficial not only for the health of our children but also for their learning. Perhaps the most significant plus point for the curfew is the protection of our children. In many parts of the world, safety is a major concern. Kidnapping and sexual assault of teenagers are widely spreading and, as a result, we should not let our children go out alone at a certain time of the night. In conclusion, although I agree that defining the timing of going out for our children could result in a less confident teenager, I, however, believe that the benefits of this method far outweigh its drawbacks.