2101 Most people these days prefer getting news online to reading newspapers or watching TV. Do you think it is a positive development?

It is irrefutable that thanks to technological advancement, the internet has become an integral part of our modern lives. A vast majority of people tends to depend on the internet for news updates and any other entertainments which has both positive and negative impacts. However, I would argue that it is more often than positive development for individuals. On the one hand, it is evident that online plays quintessential role in updating our lives by providing various contents such as e-news, educational information, entertainment related videos and so forth. Therefore, a good number of people from youth to older generations prefers the internet in order to access gathering information easily. However, this trend has led people being isolated with seldom interaction with others. To exemplify this, at present younger children tend to play games online and watch cartoons on TV. Hence, they spend a lion’s portion of time on confining themselves to 4 walls of the room, which leave them unaware of the outer world. As a consequence of this, people will fail to endure interaction skills and become unsocial. On the contrary, while it has negative implication, the internet is nevertheless of paramount importance as it allows provision of all informations and updates more conveniently and more quickly through a myriad of platforms. the most notable example of this is that office going people can get their news from news portals as well social media websites since they are reachable at a fingertip from their handheld devices such phones and tabs. As a result, more and more people click on links to enrich and entertainm themselves rather than casting eyes over cumbersome newspapers. Therefore, the internet is regarded as impetuous and make our modern lives more smoother. In conclusion, although the activities of reading newspapers or watching TV programs are being replaced by the online portals which has some detrimental impacts such as less socialization, this should be compared with the benefits such as instant and easy access to updates and entertainments. I personally believe this dependence on screens for news and entertainments has made our fast paced life more feasible.