2 THEORIES about human nature and crime

There are two theories about human nature and crime: people are good in nature and people are aggressive in nature. First, in terms of the first theory, violent behaviors are caused due to people’s evil or violent environment. Some people blame criminals on society’s shortcomings and failures such as racism, poverty, injustice, etc. In addition, people become alienated from society because they do not have many benefits as most Americans. Therefore, they are against society by reacting as violence. Underclass often claims for a higher crime rate. However, the statistics point out that the higher class have a higher crime rate. Second, for the theory that people are basically aggressive and violent, it includes two ways to deal with crime: socializing and punishing. For socializing, it gives people the value for preventing violence and gives values such as honesty, compassion and kindness. The conscience deter violent behaviors. They are linked in bringing up children and how punishment is used for the crime. Additionally, white-collar crime is not of the part of the underclass but the higher class. However, in a good environment, they have an incomplete conscience and have no fear of punishment.