2. Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think this is a waste of money because people can get access to information on the Internet. Discuss both these view and give your opinion

Should free public libraries be located in each town nationwide has been controversial problem. Some people claim that public libraries are multifunctional social place, providing services ranging from the access to information to a location for certain community activities, hence, can barely fully replaced by the Internet. While others argue that we can look up almost everything via Internet so it is useless to have more libraries. From the advocate perspective, the value of public libraries in popularizing education cannot be underestimated. Firstly, there are a lot of people who still choose to read books in a quiet place. The libraries’ space help readers concentrate more on their books. Secondly, not all the books can be digitized, particularly those old books, and public libraries contain a wide range of materials available to be borrowed for free. For example, old books, audiovisual or limited edition materials are often hard to find on the Internet which can be found only in libraries. On the other hand, the feasibility and cost-benefit efficiency of such large national project demands a big sum of money from council’s budget. For one thing, in the regions where the usage of public libraries is low due to residents’ common preference for convenience and privacy. As a results, building and keeping libraries might be arguably unworthy. This also affected badly to the budget allocated to social issues that draw greater public concern. In particular, the administrations should spend money to build schools, hospital, … which both bring social and economic value. In my opinion, the existence of public libraries is still efficient towards many people. Nevertheless, this does not necessarily mean that building at least one in all the towns is absolutely worthy because it fully depends on the authority’s fiscal abilities and citizen’s mainstream attitudes.