2. How would you try to get across the meaning of the phrase “Would you like………” (as in “Would you like a coffee? ”) to a group of beginners?

Explaining that being polite and having good manners is something that is very important. I’m going to put a picture of a party or a restaurant on the board. Ask students what they see going in the picture. Then ask students how they would invite someone to a party and what they would say if they wanted to go or did not go to the party. I’m going to write the answer on the board. Write the phrase “would you like…………” on the board …. Ask student volunteer to come up front of the class. Ask student “Would you like to go to a party? Or would you like to drink a coffee? ” Encouraging student to repeat and try to ask the class. Divide students into two groups by assigning student the number 1 or 2. Students “ones” are given note cards for inviting someone to event or to drink or eat. Give the “twos” the cards that tell them to accept or refuse the invitation. With all of the speaking practice, students will be more assured when inviting people.