169. Which situation do you think is better for children: a two-parent or single-parent family? Use details and explanations to support your preference.

As the economy grows, people are more aware of the importance of education. It is shown by the increasing number of parents who are sending their children abroad for educational purposes. This essay will discuss about the plusses and minuses of this. Sending children overseas to study can be beneficial for a number of underlying reasons. First, not only can children obtain international exposure from studying abroad, but they can also learn about diverse cultures from different countries. Furthermore, living in a foreign country can help children to open their mind about different angles towards the world and giving them the chance to interact with other people from different cultures. Consequently, children will get more ideas and knowledge about the world condition. Second, it is believed that children can be more independent and gain more confidence after experiencing studying abroad. For instance, students are forced to learn practical knowledge when studying abroad since they have almost no direct help from their parents who normally assist them at home. Finally, aiming to learn new language, children can perceive studying abroad as a language learning opportunity. Moreover, studying abroad give children the opportunity to use the foreign language and chances to immerse with the local community. Besides the advantages as mentioned above, educational trips to other countries can also bring some disadvantages. To begin with, studying abroad needs a really high investment. Therefore, parents should be ready for expenses including travel expenses, cost of living and tuition fee that might occur during their children study’s. Moreover, many students find it difficult to adjust the language along with the culture in the new country. As a consequence, culture shock can lead to frustration and anxiety over the children. To conclude, studying abroad can help children to witness diverse cultures around the world and improve their soft-skills at the same time but it requires a really high investment. While parents should be ready to pay all cost that can occur during the studies, children should be able to adjust with the new environment and if they fail, they will be exposed to some mental health conditions such as frustration and anxiety.