1. In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages of doing this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The current trend is that a vast majority of people prefer reading electronic books to traditional ones, however, it has a degree of drawbacks too. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of e-books and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of books in electronic format are portable and save storage space. Firstly, e-books are more convenient to carry around by readers and obviously, it is easy for individuals who love to read on their devices such as laptops and phones to complete their task everywhere. Similarly, they do not have to take their printed books along if they have their electronic versions. For example, most students in my schools have chosen to study on their personal phones or computers. Some even go further to take notes on the same gadgets. In view of this, the use of e-books is dominant lately. Secondly, the space for storing e-books is small as compared to the large space needed for keeping paper books. Computers, hard drives, floppy and compact disks or memory cards can be used to soft books. Whiles thousands of books can be saved on a pen drive, a big space like a room is required to keep traditional books. Readers need bookshelves in such room for that matter. For instance, most schools in Ghana have able to allocate many rooms that were used for keeping research and term papers to lecture halls when the school decided to accept the project works in word or pdf format. This has strengthened the prevalent use of e-books. On the contrary, soft books can easily be lost. Users who do not backup their electronic gadgets are likely to lose their data when the storage space crashes or fail to function. Notwithstanding, this is not enough reason to stop people from accessing e-books. Another big disadvantage of e-books is that its effects on the health of users is detrimental. The bright lights emitting from these electronic gadgets for a longer period may cause pains in their eyes and also, disturbing their sleep which can ultimately lead to serious impacts on their well-being. In spite of this, many steps will be taken to remedy this situation, hence, this should not deter people from using e-books. To conclude, even though e-books have negative effects likes losing its content easily and can cause excruciating pains to sense of sight, it has an extremely positive influence such as its easy mobility and do not occupy physical space. I these considered, I believe that these benefits of e-books outweigh its downsides.