Advantages and disadvantages of working for a large business

The world economy has been constantly growing throughout the centuries, uniting people around enterprises that require many employees with diversity of skills. This led to the prosperity of larger corporations and, in turn, a great demand among job seekers to join the giants of business. The opponents, however, claim that the genuine development of economy comes from raising small-scale companies, or startups. Let’s consider the primary benefits and drawbacks of devoting your life to the corporations. Having a proven business model and expectable cash flow, large companies, in fact, are much safer option for any employee. Since they usually possess detailed plans for the long-term development and straightforward financials, it is nearly impossible for the corporation to go bankrupt in a few days, making it less vulnerable in a face of economic uncertainties. Back in 2008, the survival rate of large businesses after the global market crash, for instance, was evidently higher than that of the young startups. In addition, the corporations’ increasing wages make them desirable target for those who desires to gain financial freedom without spending years developing new business. Young professionals working in corporations, however, argue that they often lack the ability to be creative and propose new ideas in their workspace as it is extremely difficult to implement even the minor change in large company’s structure. Startups, in contrast, are flexible since there are more interactions between various departments inside the company. Moreover, the inability to contribute directly in the growth of established enterprise encourage many people to join startup teams instead, many of which strongly believe that their own efforts are inevitably connected with future success. In conclusion, today’s world offers a variety of options for the job seekers, making them free to decide whether stability and salary oughtweight the opportunity to grow along with the company in hope for the big success in the future with a bit of uncertainty.