Your son’s elementary school provides free lunches to the children. Recently, one child experienced an allergic reaction to the food. The principle of the school has decided to reevaluate the lunch program and is asking for parents’ input. Which option do you prefer? Explain your choice. Option A: Require children to be tested for allergies Option B: Require children to bring their own lunch

I personally think children should bring their own lunches to school. Even though free lunch is a tempting option for parents, I think the children would be better off if they brought their own homemade lunches. Parents know their children much better than the school staff does. If a child has allergies, the parents can customize the child’s diet to suit his/her needs. This way, parents won’t be worrying all the time about their child having a reaction at school. Another reason why I think children should bring their own lunches is because the quality of food will be better if it is homemade. Some families prefer to eat organic food, and the school food is never organic. In my experience, the school food tends to consist primarily of carbs and sugar which is not healthy for the children. Considering these reasons, I believe it would be better for children to bring their own lunches to school. Parents will be able to relax knowing that their children will be healthy and safe from allergic reactions. Again, these are my personal beliefs, but I will support whatever the school decides to do. I appreciate the opportunity to provide input on this issue.