youngsters are preferring to live alone or with their friends

In todays modern world, youngsters are preferring to live alone or with their friends. but does this really help them grow as an individual is the question. If we analyze the family structures over past few generations, we can observe how the trends are changing from joint families to Individual families and now living alone. Due to busy schedule of parents, there is not much time available for kids to communicate with their parents, share thoughts and opinions on various topics. In some families, parents and children rarely discuss with each other. This is one predominant reason why youngsters lookout for friends to share their inner feelings. After attaining a certain age, youngsters dream of a certain lifestyle right from basics like eating habits, sleeping habits to dating, relationships etc. This might be in contradiction with their parents view. Although independent living has its merits, In my opinion there are adverse effects as well. One of my younger cousin who was class topper till high school joined college and decided to live alone in a studio apartment. This made him loose focus as it was his first time staying alone, went in the wrong direction as there was no adult supervision, got addicted to drugs and eventually failed the first semester. Living with adults or family members is desirable for a millennial. Adults share their wisdom and experiences which guides the youngster in the right direction. When youngsters fail in certain aspects, adults have the skill to bring them out from that negative feeling as they might have gone through similar experiences in life.