Young people are not using their right to vote. What problems does this cause and what are the possible solutions

In some countries, the youth are not using their opportunity to vote. The main problem this causes is the formation of an incompetent government and the most viable solution is launching an awareness campaign in universities to show the youngsters the importance of using their right to vote. The principle problem associated with lack of voting from youngsters is the selection of an incapable government. Most of the young people do not vote because they do not know the importance of voting and this can result in an incapable government being elected and that can prove to be a hindrance in the development of a country. For instance, In a country's election about 56% of youth did not participate in the polls and that resulted in the formation of an incompetent government. To tackle this problem, the election commission should launch an awareness campaign in colleges and universities about the importance of voting. The youngsters must be encouraged to use their right to vote so that good leadership can come into effect which in turn can result in a terrific growth and development of a country. For example, in a city in India, many publicity campaigns were taken out in universities urging the young people to vote and the result was quite good with about 69% youngsters voting in that particular election. In conclusion, young people not realising the importance of voting is a major issue that can result in the formation of an inefficient government. However, launching awareness campaigns in universities can educate youth to use their power to vote and choose a skillful government.