You work in a busy office. Sometimes you work overtime. Your manager wants to pay extra money for each hour of overtime; however, some people disagree. They think the staff should get extra money as a bonus once a year if the company makes money. The manager has asked you to respond to an opinion survey.

Thank you for considering our opinion on this matter. I would opt to be paid an overtime salary for the extra hours of work one will render. First of all, it would be a great motivation for employees to receive instantaneous monetary rewards for their efforts. It will boost their confidence if they know that one’s hard work is not taken for granted by the company. Secondly, the money can be used as additional funds for their daily expenses. I know some of us have part-time jobs on weekends just to be able to provide for their family. Thus, it would be a great help to most of us if we received extra cash to spend for our daily cost of living. If we’re paid recurrently for the overtime work, we won’t need a second job and the time that we spent on weekends at work will now be allotted to our family. Lastly, we can allocate the supplementary income in our savings. It is always good to keep money for rainy days since we do not know when we might need it. If we receive money regularly as oppose to a lump-sum payment such as the annual bonus, we could build a habit of saving money. I really appreciate that you’re considering our feedback and I hope that you’ll consider the points that I have provided before you make your final decision.