The spread of an ‘global language’ such as English will threaten national languages. with this opinion?

English is gaining its popularity in the modern world. Some people believe this trend might cause the possible extinction of the national language of each country, while others view it as acceptable, and even that this may result in the positive development of that country in many fields. I partly agree with the latter view for the following reasons. Opponents even go so far to claim that the loss of a language is just the tip of the iceberg. Not only does that nation forget its own language, but its culture and economic situations are at stake as well. Is it true in any circumstance? Facts have shown that countries, like Singapore, by adopting an international language, have generated a huge amount of profit through the tourism industry. More visitors worldwide swarm to this nation, as a result of finding less difficulty in their communication with local people and being attracted to these people’s high adaptability and hospitality. Admittedly, only by studying the King’s language, English, as people label, do people in the third world enjoy significant economic growth when having a chance to extend the market and learning good cultural aspects of giant and developed countries, like America and Britain. At the same time, through this global language, each country can promote its culture easily through the internet and other means of media. Some of us may find ourselves falling in love with cultures of other nations, accidentally through our discovery of their people, way of thinking, and living after surfing information in such a common language. It is undeniable that according to monthly social surveys, about three to four languages across the world are dying out, due to the increasingly small size of native speakers. In case that authorities are ready to pour a huge amount of money into linguistic programs, say, training, and insisting on indigenous textbooks, the language of that country is sure to survive well. All things considered, provided that the language of each nation receives more attention from the government, and positive aspects of an international language as absorbed, the native language is alive, along with the contribution of the global ones, so as to enrich that country itself, economically and culturally.