Writing task 2, life of older people

It is true that, as people become old they face a lot of hurdles, making their daily life difficult. This can be due to a lot of reasons. In this essay i will clearly state the reasons for my view and support it with possible examples and incidents. Firstly, to begin with the most significant factor responsible for this is the rising prevalence of different kinds of morbidities in older people, few of them being Diabetes, Hypertension, Arthritis, Dementia, Hearing loss, Diminished vision. According to recent findings, it is evident that, incidence of these diseases is higher after the age of 40. For instance, my grandmother, who is 65 years old, suffers from Arthritis and it hinders her from performing day to day chores, as she cannot walk or stand for a longer time. Furthermore, they require a good amount of money for their expensive medicines, which makes it even more problematic. Absence of a proper financial aid, can alleviate their struggles. In addition, not only health related issues, but also the lack of support from family and friends is also an important factor that makes their lives cumbersome. Most of the children look after their parents with a great deal of empathy, whereas, there are some people who do not bother about their mother and father, abandoning them in their 50's by leaving them in old age homes and nursing facilities. I remember a peculiar incident regarding my neighbors, who admitted their mother in a home for aged. Initially, it was good but as time passed by they stopped visiting her due to time constraints and the staff, who are looking after their mother reported that, she was always filled with sorrow as she used to her kids and grandkids. So not only physically, but also, mentally she was unhealthy. In conclusion, i believe that as you get older, life can throw you a lot of hurdles. But this is not unsurmountable and can be tackled by taking good care of them and this responsibility lies within us. Government can also display it's efforts by reducing the cost of medicines, for older people with poor financial background.