What does it mean to be polite

The human being is social since from the beginning of its existence on Earth, billions years ago. From that time on, we have been living in a society with laws, rules and concepts about how to be polite, have good manners and good behavior. Although these concepts can change from culture to culture, I believe that say “please” or “thank you” to people next us, who also make part of our society, means to be polite all over the world. Being polite means knowing how to behave in society. It means knowing to give in your place in a line for an elder or a pregnant woman, or just hold the door for someone to pass. It means using good manners when eating, talking or even driving. These polite behaviors are simple and easy to practice, but in many societies most of people forget good manners and good education. But why does it happen? Sao Paulo, for instance, is the most populous city in Brazil and the biggest city in South America. Therefore, people are always in a rush, just like in all the big cities around the world. I completely believe the stress caused by big cities is the main reason for people's impolite behavior, because it becomes people angrier and more impatient. As a result, sometimes people forget some simple good manners like say "please", "thank you" or "sorry". On the other hand, people from small cities are more friendly, polite, calm and, consequently, more happy too. In conclusion, people should be calmer, because patience is the first characteristics of a polite person. People also should have more respect to each other. Understand that an elderly or a pregnant woman need a place ahead of you in a line, and is not so hard to say "please" and "thank you", or open the door for someone to pass. So, if we try our best for being polite with other people, we can be happier with ourselves and we can live in a better society. Continue Reading