DOES HOMEWORK REALLY HELP STUDENTS LEARN?

Educators have debated the merits of homework since the late 19th century. In recent years, amid concerns of some parents and teachers that children are being stressed out by too much homework, things have only gotten more fraught. I think teachers assign homework in elementary school as a way to help kids develop skills they’ll need when they’re older—to begin to instill a sense of responsibility and to learn planning and organizational skills. That’s what I think is the greatest value of homework—in cultivating beliefs about learning and skills associated with academic success. If we greatly reduce or eliminate homework in elementary school, we deprive kids and parents of opportunities to instill these important learning habits and skills. And because the beginning in late middle school and continuing through high school, there is a strong and positive correlation between homework completion and academic success so I think this is one of the greatest value of homework, in cultivating beliefs about learning and skills associated with academic success. Quality homework is engaging and relevant to kids’ lives. It gives them autonomy and engages them in the community and with their families. In some subjects, like math, worksheets can be very helpful. It has to do with the value of practicing over and over. Parents don’t actually have to help with homework completion in order for kids to do well. They can help in other ways: by helping children organize a study space, providing snacks, being there as a support, helping children work in groups with siblings or friends. The stories we hear of kids being stressed out from too much homework, four or five hours of homework a night, are real. That’s problematic for physical and mental health and overall well-being. But the research shows that higher-income students get a lot more homework than lower-income kids. It matters to know that the teacher cares about you and that what you think matters to the teacher. Homework is a vehicle to connect home and school, for parents to know teachers are welcoming to them and their families. In conclusion, I think homework plays an important role in the development of student life. Through homework, students have to face challenges on a daily basis and they try to solve them quickly.