Many argue that keeping animals in captivity is inhumane, therefore should be banned.

It is believed that places which keep animals should be closed as it is cruel. While I accept that this idea has some benefits, I believe that animal preserves play an important role in wildlife protection. There are a number of reasons why some people think that keeping wild animals in captivity should be banned because it impedes animals' freedom. Wild animals are caged in a limited space and fed by humans for a long time. As a result, many of them might suffer from boredom and confinement, they can lose their pure wild animal craziness. Moreover, many organizations might see animals as an opportunity to make money. For example, many wild animals are exhibited and performed to entertain and attract visitors. Many people claim that we have no right to use animals for entertainment and profit, so they think that keeping animals should be not allowed. However, while the above mentioned may be true to a certain extent, I believe that some places like zoos are necessary for the following reasons. Firstly, sanctuaries can help to preserve endangered species by keeping them safe from poachers and other threats, such as deforestation. Some places also run breeding programs in order to try and increase the number of endangered animals to avoid them becoming extinct. Secondly, by keeping animals in captivity, people can learn and understand more about them and this can help to raise awareness amongst the public in order to help preserve certain species. In conclusion, although some people think that keeping animals in captivity should be illegal because of negative effects on animals, I personally believe species which are in danger should be kept to extend their populations.