Writing task 2 - Learning history

There are different opinions about the role of history in our present life. While many people think that studying history can teach young people about historical facts and information, the others feel that its main function is to acquaint them with the skills necessary in later life. In this essay, I will give evidence for both functions and give the final opinion. The first function introduced is the history can provide students with a lot of knowledge and important content. Historical facts and information can let them know more about the merits of the kings, generals, leaders in the past to protect the country. Those historical stories can also serve to inspire individuals to greatness. You get a huge amount of motivation from learning about those events and those people that have made it possible for us to live a peaceful life as we are today. Last, we can develop an understanding of the world. Through history, we can learn how past societies, systems, technologies and culture were built in different countries, too. With the second function, learning history may acquaint them with many necessary skills in the near future. Firstly, history trains us in research and discovery skills. Inherently this is a subject that requires the curiosity of each person about the past, they must learn and explore more about history to understand its value. Secondly, they become a more rounded person. In history, there are full of stories. Some are inspring and motivated, the others are chaotic and savage. But, from the stories of the past, we learned how to changed to become better and do not repeat the same mistakes in the past to develop the country. Like the idiom " The failure is the mother of success", people always learn new things from their own experiences, that is one of the important elements of studying history. In conclusion, I think both are major functions of history. However, no matter what the main function of this course is, I just hope people can understand the true value of this subject and love it more like other subjects.