Write an essay on pollution.

Pollution causes many problems to the environment. It makes the air difficult to breathe and water unable to support life. Some people think that it is the government that should be responsible for cleaning up polluted areas while others think it is the job of private companies. This essay will look at both sides and then try to reach a conclusion. On one side, private companies cause most pollution, so it seems fair that they should have to clean it up. Many companies make large amounts of money by ignoring laws about pollution and dumping waste in rivers or pumping it into the air. Some of their profits should definitely be used to pay to clean up the places they pollute. However, it is the government’s job to make sure that laws are followed, so they should be responsible to. In many countries, government officials take money from company bosses in exchange for not making them follow anti-pollution laws. For example, in my country, a company polluted a massive area of the coast and killed many fish, but they just paid the government officials and no one was punished, except for the local fishermen who had no way to make a living anymore. If the laws are already there, they just need to be followed, so the government must try to avoid corruption and forced companies to follow the law or be punished. Overall, I think that private companies should be the ones who clean up polluted areas because they are the ones who pollute them. However, they normally will not do this by themselves, so the government must do its job and force companies to respect the environment or be treated like criminals.