Write an essay on importance of environmental impact assessment in India.

A healthy environment lays the foundation of healthy lifestyle. But in today's times over exploitation of environment has resulted in environment disbalance in the world. To maintain this balance the focus should be shifted towards environment impact assessment before undertaking any project. Environment impact assessment is the study of the effect on the environment due to any development project like roads, highways, buildings, railway line etc. It primary objective is to check whether a project is disturbing nearby environment or not. Increasing population and increasing demands of humans has resulted in the need of building these projects. Now a days builders can be seen building residential societies without much regulation, private builders violates rules and regulation which in turn degrades nearby ecosystem. Many industries dump their waste into rivers resulting in water pollution. To curb these activities government recently introduced 'Environment impact Assessment Draft 2020'. This draft focusses on detailed examination of these project and impose fines if rules are violated. National Green Tribunal also takes necessary steps to keep environmental balance intact. Recently it imposed ban on firecrackers in NCR due to poor air quality. To maintain the healthy environment the local authorities should also step and should not provide noc If the project effects environment the concerned agencies should impose heavy fines and punishment if any project violates rules and regulations the collective efforts of govt. , Local authorities will result in fruitful results in future.