What are the effects of cramming before an exam? Write a cause-or-effect essay of about 300 words

The phrase "pre-exam cramming" is not uncommon among students; in fact, it is rather common. The reason for this is that students find it engaging and difficult; also, students just need to study for a few days and have plenty of time to play rather than having to study every day until test day. However, cramming a significant quantity of knowledge before a test does not benefit pupils; instead, it causes a slew of mental issues such as stress and melancholy. The first reason for the problem of students cramming knowledge stems from their laziness, not wanting to spend too much time on learning during the day. A survey showed that students felt their time at school was too long, leading to fatigue and unwillingness to spend more time studying at home. Therefore, they took time after school to gather with friends and their interests. Moreover, many students like to challenge themselves and that is done by only spending time studying as the test day approaches. In fact, people claim that this helps them focus more when studying instead of learning while playing, and they feel as proud of their good test results as their friends who try to study daily. On the other hand, this problem has brought many negative effects to school. The reality is that most students have had poor test results when implementing the pre-exam cramming regime. In classes close to the exam date, people are easy to hear exclamations from students "oh my god, I have not studied anything", "this time it's over, I cannot study in time", and many other laments. They have to become night owls to study, sometimes overnight. Therefore, it is not uncommon for students to get sick during the exam season just for the above reason. In addition, they feel pressure and worry too much, leading to stress or depression due to a large amount of knowledge in exam subjects. In conclusion, the problem of students cramming before the exam is being popularized, but it brings many negative effects to students' mental health.