Write an essay about your opinion on Charlie Kaufman's movie Adaptation

While finding inspirations for his third film, Charlie Kaufman was posed with a distinctive challenge. This film was set to be an adaptation of Susan Orlean's 1998 non-fiction - The Orchid Thief, which was based on her investigation into the arrest of John Laroche - a rare orchid poacher. While there's no doubt that Susan Orlean is an excellent writer who humorously and righteously conveyed the story, the story itself was lackluster to Charlie - it doesn't have the conflicts needed to become a successful film. It was at this moment Charlie decided to capitalize on his own suffering - he opts to make a film about his writer's block while adapting this movie (with many fictional details), thus, naming it Adaptation. The result was a never-before-seen adaptation filled with plot twists, humor, and creativity. Our protagonist was "Charlie Kaufman" - a screenwriter hired to write a screenplay adaptation of The Orchid Thief. His twin brother - Donald, deciding to pursue a career as a screenwriter like himself, moved into his home, learn about screenwriting, and surprisingly wrote a commercially successful cliche psychological thriller. Wanting his adaptation to be the closest possible screenplay interpretation of the book, Charlie was motivated to meet Susan to discuss the book. However, being the depressed, socially anxious person that he is, Charlie let Donald pretend to be himself to talk to Susan. Donald suspected that Susan is hiding some dirty secrets and, together with Charlie, secretly follower her to Florida and unfolds her shocking truths. Although Adaptation is largely a work of fiction, we can clearly see “real” Charlie’s reflections in “movie" Charlie and his struggles as a writer. Adaptation is a tasteful blend of fiction and reality, a testimony for his fight in the industry, his struggle to produce quality works while fighting the allure of money. For that, Adaptation deserves to be my all-time favorite.