Write an essay about the benefits of wearing uniforms

Nowadays, wearing students’ clothes at school is considered as a normal practice among young people. Besides many benefits, it also brings a number of drawbacks to both students and schools. In this paper, some specific advantages and disadvantages will be thoroughly discussed. Wearing uniforms will minimise economic inequalities because everyone will wear the same clothes. For example, it reduces discrimination between wealthy and the students from low-income family. Therefore, poor students will be more confident when they meet their friends. Simultaneously, it allows parents to save on time and money spent on shopping for school clothes. A uniform can be worn for one or two years so they don’t need to spend money on new clothes for their children every semester. For those reasons, a student’s performance at school should be assessed based on the ability to acquire knowledge or personal character, but not on appearance. One of the other reasons why schools should have uniforms is because it can enhance students’ discipline. When students wear uniforms, the gang-band clothes will be eliminated. As a result, conflicts and fighting at school will be minimised, the school environment will be more safer. Moreover, standardizing students’ clothing will make the appearance of the school more beautiful and the student will always be proud of their school where they are learning. On the other hand, wearing school uniforms might have its own drawbacks. It make students feel restrictive and they can’t show their individuality. This can affect their mood and learning throughout the whole day. As suggested above, wearing uniforms at school has both merits and demerits, but pros outweight cons. It can not only reduce the feelings of economic disparity but it also helps unify students and instil the sense of discipline among young children. That designating students’ wardrobes can eliminate students’ individuality is ungroundted.