Some people believe that companies and private individuals should be made to pay to clean up pollution. Tp what extent do you agree?

There is a strong opinion which advocates that the business corporates as well as the common citizens of a country should bear the onus of cleaning up the environment and that they should be taxed for this. However there is almost equally passionate contrary view too. Let us through some light on both schools of thought to see things in right perspective. The most preponderant point in the favour of the former view is that the humongunous firms and their factories spew out lots of polluted water as well as air and thus should be taxed to correct the situation. The common denizens too cannot escape as he too has contributed to the mess by careless use of electrical gadgets as well as motorised vehicles. Taking my point further this will make every stakeholder more responsible and accountable. Moreover this will pull the planet back from the brink of self-destructionThis will reduce our carbon foot print which is of utmost important today. For Instance, If the government of the planet put a stop at the production of vehicles run by the fossil fuels and replace them with battery operated ones, pollution will automatically fall. Albeit I am compelled to play the devil's advocate too. The most vital point is that if it is within the power of government to stop or reduce all kinds of pollution and thus stop the emission of green house gases. The individual has very little to do with it. All said and done i reckon that both sides of the debate have some undeniable merit. On the one hand the regimes are all powerful and can easily control pollution without taxing the common man. On the other hand there seems to be a clinching evidence that the big factories as well, the small household er both cause irrepairable damage to our once pristine clean environment and thus should bear the cross of cleaning it. I too, thus, am inclined to be at par with the latter veiw.