write an essay about the advantages and disadvantages of living in the modern world.

On the threshold of modernization, people are constantly offered a myriad of advancements in their lives. This has consequently had numerous benefits but has also generated adverse ramifications, which will be further analyzed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, the modern world has undeniably improved living conditions of many regarding healthcare, education and technology. Firstly, medical centers have erected both in the city and the country, with considerate services, a wide range of quality facilities and professional doctors, resulting in improved life expectancy, healthful lifestyles and remedies for once-incurable diseases. For instance, people in the past had little access to such convenience, and those in the suburban areas had to travel long distances to reach small hospitals or even a local doctor. Secondly, not only students but also adults are entitled to receiving education. Classrooms nowadays can be held online or face-to-face, and learners are equipped with an array of updated information, knowledge both academic and practical, which are capable of nurturing the best students. Thirdly, technology, or the indispensable phone in particular, has made communication faster, more efficient and convenient. It has also formed plenty of entertainment sources and has alleviated work and study thanks to its easy access to knowledge and wonderful applications. By contrast, this development has also posed several disadvantages to our lives. Technology, paradoxically, has led to deteriorated eyesight, hampered socialization skills, and specifically, the media, has created unrealistic paradigms of the “perfect” human, which is a causative factor in depression, anxiety, wasteful expenditures for such worthless pursuits. Additionally, the gap between the young and the elderly has expanded by virtue of adaptation to such advancements. Youngsters response to innovative fluctuations better than their parents or their grandparents who are likely to find difficulties in them, which in turn makes the older generation feel heartbroken or leads to a fragmented bond within the family. In conclusion, the modern life has had both beneficial impacts and adverse effects on our lives, but not inevitable should one desire to ameliorate their life and to minimize the downsides.