The Football World Cup is taking place in Brazil now(not really). Write an essay to discuss the benefits and drawbacks of football.

The Football World Cup in Brazil is on the horizon and people are now acknowledging football more than ever. Football is undeniably beneficial but it also has several drawbacks to take into account, which will be discussed further in the following passages. On the one hand, football has a myriad of advantages to one’s health and teamwork skills. Firstly, it improves our well-being by strengthening muscles, stretching them in order to avoid paralysis or cramps, or just to achieve a nice build. Additionally, it helps burn excess calories, which consequently, would prevent one from obesity or heart-related risks. Not only does it ameliorate one’s accuracy and proficiency in taking immediate actions, it also reduces fatigue and lethargy. Secondly, football promotes teamwork skills such as how to cooperate with other players, critical and strategical thinking, …Especially, leaders acquire coordinating skills, which will also foster their decision-making skills. On the contrary, football poses numerous possible threats to players. One of the most common consequences of attending football matches is injuries. They vary from small scratches to broken legs, sprained ankles or more severely, immobility or even death. One commonly neglected, albeit a detrimental problem, is skin cancer as football players tend to play their games outdoor under scorching sunrays. For instance, a Vietnamese football player suffered from a leg injury, causing him to refrain from football for 10 months in the hospital. This had great impacts on not only his health, but also his career and reputation. Furthermore, these players are prone to aggressiveness and competitiveness, which would be a causative factor in arguments and violence. In conclusion, notwithstanding irrefutable benefits in health and practical skills, football also puts one’s life at risk due to its paradoxical downsides of health and mentality. The World Cup in Brazil in particular, and football in general will undoubtedly remain indispensable and significant in the foreseeable future.