Write about tet supersitions in Vietnam

The first visitor of the year indicates luck Tet, or the Vietnamese Lunar New Year, is an incredibly superstitious time for Vietnamese families. Everyone hopes to bring themselves and their loved ones good fortune over the coming year, and one thing that dictates the family’s luck is the first visitor of the year. The action of being the first person to enter a house at Tết is called xông đất, xông nhà, or đạp đất, which is one of the most important rituals during Tết. According to Vietnamese tradition, if good things come to a family on the first day of the lunar New Year, the entire following year will also be full of blessings. Usually, a person of good temper, morality, and success will be a lucky sign for the host family and be first invited into his house. However, to be safe, some ingenious family members have devised a sneaky plan to ensure the first visitor is a ‘desirable’ one; either a member of the family will step outside and come back in moments after the clock strikes 12, or they will arrange for a fortuitous friend to be the household’s first guest.