Write a essay about the disadvantages of life in cities.

City life can be luring for most people because of its social amenities, entertainment facilities, and great infrastructure. However, there are many disadvantages to living in the city. First, the cost of living in the city is expensive, which is the reason that people typically consider moving to the city. Daily living expenses such as renting houses and utilities are very high in the city as compared to rural areas, and even the prices of food, drinks, and gasoline have all increased dramatically. Therefore, it is hard for low-income people to maintain their lives there. That may lead to inflation and reduced purchasing power. Second, there are some terrible problems with the environment in cities which are harmful to people’s health. There are a lot of people, traffic, entertainment centers and factories in the city, all of which cause noise and air pollution. A large number of cars and motorcycles also leads to traffic congestion during peak hours when people are going to and from work. In addition, we often find a lack of close-knit communities in cities. In apartment buildings and boarding houses in urban areas, although people live in adjacent houses, they rarely show strong cohesion and often do not care about each other. I think the main reason is that many different people from different regions and cultures live in the same area, so they are not familiar with other cultures, and gradually distance themselves from another. By contrast, in the country, people are closely connected with each other through familial and neighborly relationships, as well as through their general traditional cultural activities. To sum up, there are several drawbacks to city living, the typical reasons I have already given. I believe that everyone will take into consideration all aspects before choosing urban living.