 Would be the availability of more sports facilities lead to better public health? Discuss

Most people would agree that providing more sports facilities would lead to increased level of fitness and better health among the general population. However, there are also several reasons to why this measurement alone might not be sufficient to achieve the goal. The question of whether building more sports facilities promotes public health complicated. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate as well as give my view of the matter. Developing more gyms, stadiums and leisure centres would be undoubtedly admirable. Firstly, people are most likely to use the sports facilities if it is conveniently located locally. For example, after a long day working or taking care of a family, most people would not prefer to travel a long distance to justify the needs in using sports facilities, such as swimming, or playing tennis. Furthermore, having facilities such as leisure centres in the neighbourhoods will promote and encourage friends, and family members come along joining the exercise or training together, which can be more enjoyable. Finally, accessibility of a local leisure centre can increase awareness of personal fitness and wellbeing, for example, encouraging people those might not usually use the facilities to join the gym scheme. Conversely, other people feel that just having more sports facilities may not be sufficient and necessarily improving public health. Firstly, the facilities may be too expensive, both to use and to build. For instance, massive stadiums cost governments hundred million pounds, while only serving a handful of people, because ordinary people may not be able to afford to pay the fitness membership fees. Secondly, other fitness avenues should also be considered, such as training, diets, professional sports coaching and goal setting. Without proper organization and professional staffing, many people may visit sports facilities just a few times and give up or do something else more fun. Finally, the most important thing is to change the mindset and the sedentary lifestyle of people and tackle the increasing healthcare problems of overweight and obesity. Therefore, an educational programme should be in place to support the behavioural change. For example, the government may set up various fitness initiatives or sponsorships to encourage people including young people to get fitter. As well as, NHS and local councils can pay an extra effort on their websites to raise the awareness and promote health wellbeing. Overall, it seems that more sports facilities in neighbourhoods can be useful and be encouraging to local communities’ fitness with the benefits of raising fitness awareness, convenient to use and enjoy sports with friends and families, provided that the supporting and educational programmes are in place.