Intelligence is the most important component for leadership. Give examples from your own experience or knowledge.

When asked for qualities to define a leader, intelligence is often put at the top of the list. What people forget are the softer, more personal qualities that in fact make a true leader. So, I believe there are other qualities that are just as important as intelligence for becoming a leader. Notwithstanding all of the emphasis on IQ, I think recognizing the importance of emotional intelligence on the way to become a leader is very essential. It has been observed many times that an intelligent leader may fail to address the emotional issues of his team, may fail to motivate them using the right amount of sensitivity and authority. Intelligence can lead you to the path of excellence, but might not prepare you for any emotional or mental hurdles that need other cognitive skills. Another factor important to become a leader is character quota. Character quota represents the strength of your character. While your brain may be valuable to someone else (an employer), your beliefs only hold value to you. A person with a high character quota would be unlikely to compromise their beliefs based on temptations such as money or a promotion. This integrity makes them a great asset to any organization, thereby making them extremely effective leaders that people can look up to. Therefore, I disagree that intelligence is the only component necessary to become an effective leader. The elements to leadership include a blend of a strong mind (high IQ); a strong ability to influence people on an emotional level (high EQ), and a strong positive character quota (high CQ).