Working hours are too long and people are not spending as much time as they should with their families or on leisure activities. What is your opinion on this issue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Capitalism and its’ methods have always perpetuated the idea that toiling away for extra hours is productive. As a result, individuals rarely get a chance to indulge in hobbies or even talk with their loved ones. I strongly believe that, despite significant earnings, one person should never overwork so that their physical and especially mental health can be sound. Laboring over tasks and duties excessively often seems to reiterate the idea that we are being a dedicated and hardworking employee. Money is a common issue for nearly all people so I understand when people take up extra shifts to support their families. However, the pain of not being with their families or carving out time for extracurricular activities, usually, puts an immense burden on the human psyche. Mental and physical well-being is undoubtedly important and the risk of losing sanity over work is not how an economy or a society should function. To further elaborate, I used to be a full-time undergraduate student who took up French classes for extra credit and I was employed as a store clerk as well. This situation heightened my insomnia and I often had low blood pressure. Similarly, I rarely got the chance to even chat with my parents’ over the phone or brush up on my skillsets. I was an avid reader and a dancer but since I took upon the aforementioned load, my mental strength declined rapidly. To sum up, labor hours are rising but on the contrary the wages are remaining relatively stable. Working to the point of exhaustion is never a good option and I feel that everyone should spare some time for themselves and their dear ones for peace and sanity.