teach school student to learn more about their local history than the world history. to what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that children at school should be taught about the history of the place they were born rather than the history of the world. I strongly agree with this view for the following justifications. The main reason why it is of greater importance for students to acknowledge of their hometown history is that it helps them to cultivate a sense of patriotism and national pride. For instance, according to the Vietnam history, many parts of our country were highly affected by protracted wars including French, American and Chinese colonialism. Therefore, the young people are aware of how their previous generation had bravely fought against the enemies and sacrificed their lives to protect and bring back the peace to our country. This will become a motivation for the new generations to make more effort in their current study and future careers, also stimulation for young people to try to become a useful citizen who contributes their best in different aspects of the national developments. On the contrary, placing more priority on teaching students about numerous past events of the world would possibly lead to the ignorant of their own local historical values, loosening their sense of root and belonging. Even worse, people of younger generations from emerging countries could have a negative attitude and give disrespectful comments while comparing the recent developing achievements of their countries to other successful nations without understanding the difficulties that they ancestor had been through in the past to build the country. In addition, national history and past events is a part of each country’s unique culture. Consequently, educating the young generations about the local and national history is another approach to preserve and promote the country special culture. Meanwhile, understanding about the country’s historical stories, images and values provide abundant materials for the younger generations to generate creative ideas that also contribute to their individual success. In conclusion, I totally believe that more attention should be emphasized in the history of the local area than world history. This effort encourages the students to treasure their national identity and provide effective educational background for children future career development.