Women are better at childcare than men therefore they should focus more on raising children and less on their working life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the beginning of civilization, women have always been associated with taking care of children and doing home chores while men do outside work. Even in the animals female takes care of children until they grow. While I agree with the fact that women are good at taking care of children I disagree with the idea that they should not give preference to their working life. When we make such general statements we do injustice to both, women and men, because on one hand, we are restricting women to the home, on the other hand, we are doing the same for the men by undermining their role in parenthood. For the holistic development of a child, it requires both parents to play their role in the upbringing of the child and the same goes for the workforce and the industry. How can we utilize our full potential if 50 % of us work in restrictive capacity or don't work at all? We can have examples of women thriving in every industry at various roles and positions like Indra Nooyi, Kalpana Chawla, and Chandra Kochhar to name a few. A recent survey done by a popular HR consultancy shows that companies having more percentage of women have a better work environment and better conditions compared to those who have less percentage of women. Moreover, when we put this idea in mind of children and parents, which decides the work of an individual based on his or her gender, then they will select the courses on this prejudice. For example in my college, there was only 1 girl in the mechanical section while no of boys was 3000. You can see this type of examples everywhere in our societies. In conclusion, both men and women should contribute to the upbringing of their child and both should be given the same opportunities in work so they can decide their preference according to their will. We should give women the same motivation for study and work as we do for men.