With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

There is no denying the fact that children nowadays have a high incidence of stress to gain the best score in academics. Those of them who score high grades in academics are more likely to have a successful career in the future. However, most schools include both academic and non-academic subjects in the sillabus so that many parents and teachers believe that non-academic subjects should be removed from the school curriculum. To begin with, non-academic activities mean having some relaxation through doing sports, dancing, jumping and playing mobile games. In fact, it help students to concentrate more on academic subjects and, of course, improve their health. For example, regularly physically active students are active in general. They feel strong themselves and set to achieve any goals. In addition, these physical activities play in significant role in enhancing children's talents and essential skills like cookery or learning how to survive. Obviously, sport and physical education provide children the knowledge of working in team, setting goals or acquiring the discipline. For example, cub scout summer schools or role-playing, which improve communication skills and teamwork spirit. In conclusion, I am convinced that non-academic subjects are crucially important for children's development and necessary to future healthy physically active generations. After all, we need not only scientists or writers, the world requires strong athletes, actors, cookers, and many other professionals as well.