With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

Due to the huge revolution in information, students in all stages of education have to do many courses. There is a common thought that courses that are not academic such as cooking and physical education have to be eliminated to let a chance for pupils focus on the main academic courses. In my opinion, it is a totally wrong thought because these non-academic courses teach them a lot of skills which are so important for them. Also, students should enjoy while they are learning. Non-academic subjects had been tough to students from a long time ago and many studies had proven how these courses had a great effect on students. Though these non-academic courses they have learned many life skills such as cooking, sewing, threading, and some important physical exercises which keep them on healthy lifestyle track. To give a clear example, when I was at primary school, I loved this non-academic lessons more than the academic ones because across these courses I learned how to depend on myself in many things at young age such as preparing my breakfast alone and sewing my clothes. Therefore, the lessons that pupils took in each week on these non-academic subjects should be increased not removed. In addition, one of the most effective ways to encourage students to study and attend their lessons regularly is to let them enjoy while they are learning. Many students really adore these non-academic lessons because these lessons are enjoyable and they can discover their hobbies through them. They can also share a lot of activities with their classmates during these lessons which as a consequence will develop their communication skills and teamwork skills. Overall, non-academic lessons at schools are essential in any stage of education regardless the number of academic courses that are tough. These courses help students gain many skills and have fun while learning.