With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.

Due to the escalating demand for fossil-based fuels, it is thought that unexplored parts of the earth should be opened to increase the supply of such resources, but I fully disagree with this position for the reasons discussed below. Firstly, by opening up access to unexplored areas for usage of oil and gas would increase a global warming. In other words, global temperature is rising gradually due to the excessive use of fossil fuels. As a result, humans can be the threat of extinction. Moreover, if people do not stop the exploitation of natural resources, the green areas that form the lungs of earth would shrink even further. This will also affect people’s health. In addition to that, diseases will spread more quickly and affect more people because of the emission of poisonous gases and other contaminants from factories. Thus, environment as well as people’s health would suffer a lot. Furthermore, instead of spending a large amount of money on finding more fossil fumes resources, funds should be allocated for the research and development of renewable energy sources such as solar, wind, and hydro. Our planet has limited known reserves of these fuels and they are expected to last for not more than a decade while the demand for energy is endless. As a result, investments into renewable energies would be cheeper and more profitable in a further perspective. In conclusion, I am convinced that an idea of digging more areas for oil and gas would not benefit mankind and environment in any way, due to the reasons that it would be a waste of money, as well as it would affect human health, and cause more an environmental problems.