Many People work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Working for long hours have become a lifestyle for most of the people. Majority of workers are spending more time working which is leading to have lesser time off. This essay will discuss about the advantages of working long hours while also highlighting the disadvantages related to this scenario. To earn good and reach personal goals, now-a-days working for long hours is a necessity. People who are working for more time than the usual office hours, easily gets the attentions from the higher management of the company. For e. g. Higher management team will always chose a person for promotions who invest more time for office work rather than who only works for specific hours a day. Another advantage of working till late can definitely provide with higher paid jobs as the company looks for the potential candidates who are willing to give more time to the company for that they won’t mind spending extra on the employee’s salary and bonus. For e. g. people who are willing to work late or spend extra hours than usual for the company get recommended by the senior managers which leads to the high salary packages and bonus. All of this leads to have a better lifestyle for the individual and give him/her respected designation which they are aiming for. Considering the advantages of working late there few disadvantages too which can lead have very minimal time for self and family. A person would be able to grow as employee but will fail to grow as an individual as he/she won’t be able to have time for their hobbies. For e. g. As per the recent studies by TOI 70% of working population don’t have any hobbies or knowledge in extra curriculum activities. Working too late also leads to mental stress and can also bring health issues in future. For e. g. People who put more time in work don’t have time to look after their body and health which eventually turns out to become a big issue. Over all we can say a person should have a work life balance so that they can have good health along with good career. Summing up the above discussion we understand that working late hours can definitely provide success and good income but on the other hand will also disturb the self-development and health.