With the increase in the use of mobile phones and computers, fewer people are writing letters. Some people think that the traditional skill of writing letters will disappear completely. How important do you think is letter-writing?

Nowadays, the use of mobile phones and computer has become an integral part of individuals’ lives. However, whether the letter writing would vanish as a consequence has recently caused a heated debate. My view is that despite the decline of popularity, letter writing will not be replaced completely. It is clear that we live in a world where not everyone can afford the luxury of purchasing and utilizing electronic devices. Some of the underprivileged even lack access to basic human needs such as food and running water in their households. Hand-written letter might be their only possible means of long-distance communication regardless of how technologically advance society is. Moreover, the formal nature of correspondence ensure the long-lasting existence of mail writing. For instance, when it comes to rendering legal documents, were it not for paper-form letter, it would not be likely to get judgments, awards, indictments and subpoenas served to all parties concerned every time. Furthermore, the purpose of letter writing has evolved from delivering message into expressing emotions, which makes letter writing indispensable especially in the case of love-letter drafting. That is not to say that cellphones and computers does not have what it takes to transform letter writing. Indeed, the timeliness and swiftness of instant message and email is not only evidently conducive to efficiency and productivity in the workplace, but also helpful for family members to keep in touch with one another. And on top of that, a considerable amount of delivery cost would be saved. But still, none of the above provide sufficient ground for disappearance of letters. In summary, while modern communication seems to be a perfect alternative, letter writing is still used in some fields for its formality and courtesy and carries more intimate emotions when applied in personal life. Such unique features make it irreplaceable in the foreseeable future.