With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

In recent years, due to advancements in science and technology, the health sector has reached a new level. As a result, there is growth in the elderly population. Many people would argue that this will impose a burden on society. However, I have the opinion that the growing number of aged people is manageable due to the existence of many government plans. Nobody can deny the fact that researchers have done immense innovations in the medical field. Now treatments are available for those diseases also which were once considered incurable, for example cancer. On one side, if the number of hospitals has increased in the few years, so do the long term care centres for the older generation. Thus more people can be accommodated in these facilities. In addition, the Governments of many countries provide welfare services to the aging people so that they do not put any burden on the society. For instance, the Canadian Government provides benefits to the seniors who age greater than 65. The funds spent on these services is actually the money these people paid as taxes in their earlier working years. Furthermore, the Government and banks have started many savings plans for the retired people as well. People can save small amounts of money on a monthly or yearly basis that will be useful after their retirement. For example, there is a Registered Retired Savings Plan Program offered by many banks in which people will contribute during the period when they are employed. In conclusion, I believe that the expenses of elderly masses can be easily managed by the Government schemes and it would not be burdensome for the society.